Stop the Sale of Baby Body Parts in TN: Yes on House Bill 2577

UPDATE: The House Health Subcommittee passed HB2577 on a voice vote on March 23, it will now be scheduled for the full House Health Committee in the next few days!

The 109th General Assembly has already produced great gains for Tennessee's pro-life movement including the restoration of statutes requiring that abortion facilities be licensed and inspected by the state health department and that abortion promoters provide informed consent and a 48-hour waiting period for women and girls considering abortion.  While Federal Judge Kevin Sharp has currently enjoined enforcement of the licensure law at the state's 2 unlicensed abortion facilitiesthe consent and waiting period provisions are successfully saving lives as women, girls and families receive accurate information and additional time to make life-affirming decisions for themselves and their unborn children.

On Tuesday, March 15, Tennessee will take its next steps toward greater protection for life as Governor Haslam's legislation to reform the operation of abortion facilities receives its first vote.  HB 2577 will be taken up Tuesday morning, 8:30 a.m., (CDT) by members of the State House Health Sub-Committee chaired by pro-life state Rep. Ryan Williams (R-Cookeville).  The bill is sponsored in the House by longtime pro-life leader, state Rep. Bill Dunn (R-Knoxville) and includes increased inspection and record-keeping requirements at abortion facilities and prohibits the purchase and sale of human fetal remains in Tennessee.

Brought in response to the release of undercover videos last summer in which high-ranking Planned Parenthood leaders were caught negotiating the sale of baby body parts, Governor Haslam responded with the drafting of legislation "to strengthen accountability and transparency for surgery centers performing abortion."  The pro-life bill is opposed by Planned Parenthood and some researchers in Tennessee who use the bodies of aborted unborn children for experimentation.

Please contact members of the House Health Sub-Committee today and encourage others to do so as well.  Urge each to support the Governor's bill to increase inspections and record-keeping requirements at abortion facilities and prevent such facilities from profiting from the sale of baby body parts.  Tell them Pro-life Tennessee says YES on HB 2577!

Rep. Ryan Williams, Chair (R-Cookeville): rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.1875
 
 

Rep.John Ray Clemmons (D-Nashville): rep.john.ray.clemmons@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.4410.
 

Rep. Barry Doss (R-Leoma): rep.barry.doss@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.7476
 

Rep. Jeremy Faison (R-Cosby): rep.jeremy.faison@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.6871
 

Rep. JoAnne Favors (R-Chattanooga): rep.joanne.favors@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.2702
 

Rep. Gary Hicks (R-Rogersville): rep.gary.hicks@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.7480
 

Rep. Matthew Hill (R-Jonesborough): rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.2251
 

Rep. Sabi Kumar, MD (R-Springfield): rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.2860
 

Rep. Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma): rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.7448
 

Rep. Cameron Sexton (R-Crossville): rep.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.2343
 

Rep. Bryan Terry, MD (R-Murfreesboro): rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.2180 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.