Senate Panel to Hear Pro-Life Bills on Tuesday

On Tuesday, April 7, Tennessee's state Senate will take its first step towards restoring common-sense policies on abortion and will debate measures providing informed consent and a 48-hour waiting period before an abortion may be performed as well as a requirement that abortion facilities be inspected and licensed as other out-patient surgical centers.

Restoration of a 48 hour waiting period is even more critical as neighboring states have recently passed and/or considering longer waiting periods than Tennessee.

SB 1222 (informed consent/waiting period) and SB 1280 (abortion facility regulation) will be heard by the Senate Judiciary Committee chaired by state Senator Brian Kelsey (R-Collierville.)

Click here to immediately contact the members of the committee and urge their strong support for SB 1222 by Sen. Mae Beavers  and SB 1280 by Sen. Joey Hensley, MD. (Please see list of members of the committee below.)

If your senator is on the Senate Judiciary Committee (see list below), please call and urge support for the Right to Life legislative agenda. Pro-abortion members of the committee will be challenging the bills and your emails and phone calls are critically important to the pro-life members of the committee.

In addition, supporters are encouraged to attend the meeting of the committee, Tuesday, April 7, 1:00 p.m. (CDT) in Legislative Plaza Room 12. For more information, please email info@tnrtl.org or call Tennessee Right to Life (615)298-LIFE.

 

SENATE JUDICIARY COMMITTEE MEMBERS 

Senator Brian Kelsey, Chair (R-Collierville) - sen.brian.kelsey@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.3036

Senator Doug Overbey, 1st Vice-Chair (R-Maryville) - sen.doug.overbey@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.0981

Senator Janice Bowling, 2nd Vice-Chair (R-Tullahoma) - sen.janice.bowling@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.6694

Senator Mike Bell (R-Riceville) -sen.mike.bell@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.1946

Senator Todd Gardenhire (R-Chattanooga) - sen.todd.gardenhire@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.6682

Senator Lee Harris (D-Memphis) - sen.lee.harris@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.1767

Senator Sara Kyle (D-Memphis) - sen.sara.kyle@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.4167

Senator Kerry Roberts (R-Springfield) - sen.kerry.roberts@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.4499

Senator John Stevens (R-Huntingdon) - sen.john.stevens@capitol.tn.gov, 615.741.4576

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.