Restore Life in TN: YES on HB 977 and HB 1368

After many years of struggle, Tennessee's state House is about to begin debate of common sense protections for women, girls and unborn children.  Because of radical court rulings, Tennessee lost the ability to regulate the practice of abortion which has resulted in the tragic distinction of our state becoming a top abortion destination.
Now, following passage of Amendment 1, Tennessee's lawmakers can again enact meaningful safeguards and the legislative effort to do so begins this Tuesday, March 24.
 
Bills to restore informed consent, a 48 hour waiting period and to require regulation of abortion facilities will be heard by the House Health Sub-Committee chaired by state Representative Ryan Williams(R-Cookeville.)
 
Click here to immediately contact the members of the sub-committee and urge their strong support for HB 1368 by Rep. Susan Lynn.  House Bill 1368 would require that abortion facilities be licensed and inspected as ambulatory surgical centers and held to the same standards for health and safety.
Please also urge passage of HB 977 by Rep. Matthew Hill andRep. Debra Moody to restore informed consent provisions so that women and girls considering abortion are provided accurate information regarding the gestational age and development of their unborn children, possible risks of the abortion procedure, and local resources available to provide life-affirming assistance.
HB 977 would also restore the 48-hour waiting period previously passed in 1978 which helps to prevent coerced abortions and allows women and girls time to consider and research the information and referrals provided by informed consent.
 
Supporters are invited to attend the meeting of the sub-committee, Tuesday, March 24, 1:30 p.m. (CDT) in House Hearing Room 30. For more information, please email info@tnrtl.org or call Tennessee Right to Life (615)298-LIFE.

 

HOUSE HEALTH SUB-COMMITTEE MEMBERS
Representative Ryan Williams, Chairman (R-Cookeville) -rep.ryan.williams@capitol.tn.gov
Representative John Ray Clemmons (D-Nashville) -rep.john.ray.clemmons@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Barry Doss (R-Leoma) - rep.barry.doss@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Jeremy Faison (R-Cosby) - rep.jeremy.faison@capitol.tn.gov
Representative JoAnne Favors (D-Chattanooga) -rep.joanne.favors@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Matthew Hill (R-Jonesborough) - rep.matthew.hill@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Sabi 'Doc' Kumar, MD (R-Springfield) -rep.sabi.kumar@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Judd Matheny (R-Tullahoma) - rep.judd.matheny@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Cameron Sexton (R-Crossville) -rep.cameron.sexton@capitol.tn.gov
Representative Bryan Terry, MD (R-Murfreesboro) -rep.bryan.terry@capitol.tn.gov

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.